The visual thing that has stuck in my mind since I have seen it!

Protesters on 42nd Street in front of Grand Central Terminal during the Women's March in New York City. Credit: Nicole Craine for The New York Times

Protesters on 42nd Street in front of Grand Central Terminal during the Women’s March in New York City. Credit: Nicole Craine for The New York Times

Seeing this image in The New York Times, the day after I shuffled my way down this very path, left me in awe and it has stuck with me ever since. It is a different feeling being there, verses seeing it in a well shot photograph like this one. While there, the energy and common goals of fellow protesters was palpable. The enormity of the crowd was evident, but it was not fully realized, at least visually for me, until it was seen through the eyes of on-lookers. The play of light with the shadows cast on the crowd from the buildings, and the grayed-out sky, make this photograph visually interesting. Also, the wonderful receding perspective of the buildings and the street, help tell the story. As far back as the eye can see, there are people! People that have peacefully assembled and come together in protest. I find it magnificent, not only as an image, but also as documentation of something bigger than myself that I was a part of. The resistance has not let up one tiny bit since election day either, which makes this image even more powerful.

Leave a Reply

