Interview with A Family Member

I interviewed my fifteen-year-old daughter.  These are her answers to the following questions:

  1. What is one of the most beautiful things you have ever seen?

“My cats and my dog.”

We are an animal loving family and pets are “fur babies” in our house, so I get where she is coming from.  Each of our pets were adopted as babies and we have enjoyed taking care of them together as a family.  We’ve already lost one of our cats not too long ago.  She died peacefully one night while we all slept.  It was so difficult as a mother to watch my daughter go through the loss of a most beloved cat that was undoubtedly hers.

  1. What is one of the most beautiful things you have ever experienced?

“Going on the Queen Mary.”

We have visited the Queen Mary a couple of times now and it is a spectacular ship!  On board there is a hotel, a museum, and the last time we were there we visited just for Sunday Brunch. It is on my daughter’s “to do again soon list.”

  1. What is their favorite memory or story about you?

“Going to Disneyland and going on all the fun rides together.”

Ah, my “Peanut” and I are the dare devils of our little family of four.  We went on all the scary rides together while the other two of us favored kiddie rides.  Some great memories indeed!  I do believe Jessica has ulterior motives here with her answers to these questions.

I also interviewed my husband.  Here are his answers:

  1. What is one of the most beautiful things you have ever seen?

“The photo of Madison and Jessica [our daughters] hugging each other with their eyes closed and their faces pressed together.”

This photo lives on our refrigerator.  It is dated August 2, 2002, and our daughters are four years old and one year old, respectively.  It is funny, because of all the snap shots that I have of our kids growing up, this may be the only one (perhaps there are others), that I don’t remember the moment in which it was taken.  It is a sweet and beautiful, captured fleeting moment in time, however.

"Madison and Jessica; The Photo Without a Memory", August 2, 2002

“Madison and Jessica; The Photo Without a Memory”, August 2, 2002

  1. What is one of the most beautiful things you have ever experienced?

“Madison’s acceptance into SUNY Albany.”

SUNY Albany is my husband’s alma mater, and it was Madison’s top choice, so it was a beautiful moment.

  1. What is their favorite memory or story about you?

“Years ago, when we were taking a day trip into the city with our friends Emily and Ian, we spent the day at the Metropolitan Museum of Art.  After a full day of walking around we went to the Carnegie Deli for Dinner.  While waiting on line for a table, in walks Henny Youngman, who is brought to the front of the line, where we were standing.  I turn to my friends and point out Henny Youngman, with amazement.  Emily and Ian both look up and repeat, “Henny Youngman!”  Beth looks up and asks, “who is Henny Youngman?”  

My husband and I have known each other since high school and we have been together almost as long.  Of all the years and memories we have together, this is his favorite memory of me?  What can I say, I’m not one for knowing and remembering famous people’s names, especially those that I may not be particularly a fan of.  It was a funny moment though.  It is interesting too, as we have just learned that the famous Carnegie Deli closed their doors for good on December 30, 2016.

Leave a Reply

